Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-07 - 3:30 p.m.

PICTURE THIS

I was out for a run early one morning a couple of weekends ago while I was at my parents� mountain house. They have this beautiful five and a half acre lot in western North Carolina with national forest on three sides and a view of Wayah Bald in front. It�s especially picturesque on summer mornings with rolled bales of hay sitting in the pastures waiting to be stored in old barns with rusted tin roofs.

As I ran along the road below their property, I heard the stream that meanders along one side of the road and glanced down to a clearing below. There was the stream (looking chock full of brookies and rainbows) with a lawn chair set up next to its bank. It looked weathered like it was a permanent fixture. Behind the chair was a little house that really looked more like a fish camp than a home, although it definitely was someone�s permanent residence. That was when the whole scene was shattered by a sight I will never forget.

An old Camaro with weeds growing under it stood next to the house, and behind that was a second shack nearly the same size as the house filled with car parts and other junk. Mounted on the side of the shack was � are you ready for this? � a gigantic rebel flag with a larger-than-life image of the bearded, sunglassed, cowboy-hatted head of Hank Williams Jr. smack dab in the middle of it grinning like a Cheshire cat.

Of course, I proceeded to construct a whole story around that little site and its inhabitants. Big Seth�s three legged possum, pa�s shotgun, and a mysterious drifter in Dillard cave thoroughly entertained me for the remainder of my run.

The pastures didn�t even score a close second to that one.

~Samantha

recommended:
reading -To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
viewing - Deliverance
listening -"Sweet Home Alabama" by Lynrd Skynrd

care to comment?
0 people have so far.

previous entry - next entry - random entry

read my profile - leave me a note

recent entries:
RELOCATION - October 21, 2006
OVERHEARD IN MAYFAIR - October 19, 2006
DREAM OF A YOUNG BOY I MET BRIEFLY LAST NIGHT - September 23, 2006
OKAY, THEN... - August 21, 2006
MOTHERHOOD - March 26, 2006

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!