Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 08, 2005 - 1:09 pm

WHY CAN�T WE ALL JUST GET ALONG?

School�s about to start again, and that�s gotten me thinking � thinking about how remarkably similar some things are to when I was in school. Did you know they still have the same lunch menus they had 30 years ago? They do. One day I asked my kids what they had for lunch and when they said �pizza� I asked if they had corn and jello with it. They thought I was Kreskin.

And another thing that hasn�t changed is that kids today are always learning interesting new words from other kids, just as I did. I remember this one time when I was in the first grade some black girl called me a soda cracker. She was clearly upset with me, but, not being prone to speaking much, I didn�t really press her on what she meant. Instead I went home and asked my mom what a soda cracker was.

She looked at me, kind of smirking, and said, �Soda cracker is another term for a Saltine cracker. Why do you ask?�

When I told her someone called me that, she just laughed and said �Don�t worry about it, honey.� That was the end of the conversation.

I was pretty baffled by the whole thing, curious what in the world I had about me that reminded this angry girl of a cracker. Was I square? Crumbly? Did I break easily if placed back in the tin improperly? Beats me.

It wasn�t until years later that I realized it was actually a racial slur. Like honkey or gringo. I was more perplexed than ever.

To this day, that�s got to be the least offensive racial slur I�ve ever heard. Who doesn�t like crackers? You know? What�s more harmless than a little old cracker? It�s crispy, lightly salted, low fat, and always comforting when you�re sick! It goes well with chili, soup, and oysters, not to mention a wide variety of cheeses! So versatile and satisfying!

Hell, that�s so me it's scary.

~Samantha

recommended:
reading -Snow by Orhan Pamuk
viewing -West Side Story
listening -�I Won�t Love You (�Til You�re More Like Me)� by The Snakes

care to comment?
0 people have so far.

previous entry - next entry - random entry

read my profile - leave me a note

recent entries:
RELOCATION - October 21, 2006
OVERHEARD IN MAYFAIR - October 19, 2006
DREAM OF A YOUNG BOY I MET BRIEFLY LAST NIGHT - September 23, 2006
OKAY, THEN... - August 21, 2006
MOTHERHOOD - March 26, 2006

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!