Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 27, 2004 - 9:53 am

PASS ME THAT CHISEL, YOU OLD HARPIE.

I�m really starting to enjoy this on-line diary thing. I like to write, and a few people seem to like reading what I write, and that�s neat-o.

There�s something bothering me, though. I haven�t actually mentioned to John yet that I keep an on-line diary. However, I do intend to do so very soon before it gets to the point where it�s been going on so long that everyone knows about it but him and then there�s never a good time to bring it up. That would suck:

Me: Could I get a ride to the MARTA station?
John: Where are you going?
Me: To the airport. Could you hand me that suitcase?
John: The airport? Why?
Me: To catch a plane, silly.
John: Where are you going?
Me: New York.
John: What?
Me: New York. Pass me the toothpaste.
John: What for?
Me: I can�t go on a six week book tour without toothpaste, can I?
John: A what?
Me: A book tour. Did I not mention that?
John: Uh�..no?
Me: Oh, sorry. Yeah. I�m going to be promoting my book.
John: What book?
Me: It�s nothing. Just a little collection of my diary entries from the past thirteen years.
John: Your diary entries? What diary? And who would publish your diary? What did you say about me?
Me: What�s that supposed to mean?
(Argument degenerates from original topic to personal shortcomings on both our parts until we forget what we were talking about, I miss my plane, the deal falls through, and the book is a complete bomb, sending us into a financial tailspin, causing us to lose our house and roam from shelter to shelter in search of shoes with soles and head lice treatment for our drug-addicted adult children.)

See what I mean? It could get complicated. I need to go ahead and tell him, but sometimes I�m more comfortable sharing my thoughts with complete strangers than I am with John and I�m not sure how he would feel knowing my thoughts are out there with complete strangers. We�ve never really had what you�d call an �open line of communication� and, in fact, we don�t ever really �speak to each other,� although I certainly wouldn�t mind if he were reading along. I mean, maybe he�d find out something interesting about me that would tip the scales in my favor over his wood shop.

Or, maybe not. I could just end up making him really hurt and mad so that he goes postal and takes his hammer-drill to the station wagon. Or, more likely, mails me a dead trout with �TRAITOR� meticulously chiseled into its little scales with his expensive Japanese chisels. He never did like trout.

Okay, this whole entry is getting completely out of hand in an over active imagination, worst-case scenario kind of way, but this diary isn�t really about John and his chiseled fish � not directly, anyway. It�s about me. So there. Nanny nanny boo boo.

I�ll see you all at the signing in New York.

~Samantha

recommended:
reading -Music for Torching by A.M. Homes
viewing - The Anniversary Party
listening -"Which will" by Nick Drake

care to comment?
0 people have so far.

previous entry - next entry - random entry

read my profile - leave me a note

recent entries:
RELOCATION - October 21, 2006
OVERHEARD IN MAYFAIR - October 19, 2006
DREAM OF A YOUNG BOY I MET BRIEFLY LAST NIGHT - September 23, 2006
OKAY, THEN... - August 21, 2006
MOTHERHOOD - March 26, 2006

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!