Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

July 29, 2004 - 2:21 pm

OLD FRIEND

There's something about my friend Erik that makes me talk. A lot.

I'm not usually much of a talker because if you�re talking, you�re not listening. And if you�re not listening, you�re not learning anything. Plus, I get frustrated because I don�t think in short sentences, and that�s all most people give me time for in a verbal conversation. But not Erik. He nods and gives me time to get out a complete thought, and then he waits for me to follow that thought up with another one.

If it were anyone else I'd say they were just pretending to listen but actually staring at my tits or that they were not really listening at all. But I know he�s there because he chimes in at just the right time to recap in a couple of words what took me ten minutes to say. I also know he�s staring at my tits.

Maybe it's because we've been friends for twelve years and I feel like I can say anything to him without shocking him. Actually, he�s usually the shocker. Erik grew up in the French Quarter of New Orleans with eccentric parents, and he can be a little � how shall I say? � inflaming at times. He�s difficult for some people to take because he has a super quick wit and he doesn�t censor out the gross parts. He�s fun to play verbal volleyball with.

I think I won Erik�s heart the first time we met in person, having known of each other by reputation for a while. It was at Auburn in the early '90's and we were both in the Architecture program there, but in different classes on different floors of the building. Very late one winter night at Dudley Hall, I took a break from working in my studio and began wandering around all the floors of the building with my black cape wrapped around my head. Don�t ask. It was late and I was strange. I happened by Erik�s studio and introduced myself, and immediately we began to lob razor sharp wit at one another. I had a little bit of a cold at the time and my nose needed blowing before I could continue with our fun; but, alas, there was no tissue to be found, so Erik suggested I use the sleeve of his navy blue t-shirt. Naturally, I called his bluff and left a huge gob of slimy snot on the left shoulder of that shirt. What are new friends for? The look on his face was of disbelief, admiration, disgust, and true love all at the same time. We laughed a lot.

We never got together in any romantic way, but that's been okay with both of us all these years. This way, we can give each other relationship advice and kid each other about how great we both are and how we're too good for anyone out there but each other, without that pesky 'reality' stuff ruining our perfect union.

Thanks for listening, Erik.

~Samantha

recommended:
reading -
viewing -
listening -

care to comment?
0 people have so far.

previous entry - next entry - random entry

read my profile - leave me a note

recent entries:
RELOCATION - October 21, 2006
OVERHEARD IN MAYFAIR - October 19, 2006
DREAM OF A YOUNG BOY I MET BRIEFLY LAST NIGHT - September 23, 2006
OKAY, THEN... - August 21, 2006
MOTHERHOOD - March 26, 2006

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!