Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

January 31, 2005 - 9:44 am

RAISING THE BAR

Since I can't seem to find enough competitors to organize The Urban Olympics, I�ve decided to do another triathlon. It�s actually the same one I did last fall, only hopefully this time it won�t be between four hurricanes and I won�t almost drown. John got us a membership to the local YMCA, which is really nice and has a pool for doing laps. They have a great kids� area, too, with a regulation sized pool table because we live in the �hood and that�s what kids do around here. Well, that and play basketball using street rules which means you bring your gun onto the court only when someone has flagrantly fouled you or has seriously dissed yo� mama.

Anyway, the triathlon is at the end of April, so I�ve got about 12 weeks to train. I�ll keep you posted on my increasing state of buffness and my kids� rebound stats as the months roll on.

And in lieu of a real entry, here are some pictures.


This one is from this past weekend; (L to R) Julie�s
son, my Girl, and my Boy playing in the ice.


This is from Christmas at my Grandmother�s
house. Notice the requisite grandmother-style
lamp and couch in the background.


And this is from this past Halloween.
The Girl is a Zombie Bride, and the Boy
is a Plain Old Zombie.


Here�s the Girl at her last ballet recital giving her friend a hug
for luck. She�s beautiful and smart, too.

~Samantha

recommended:
reading -The Principles of Psychology by William James
viewing - The Hours
listening -"If You Want Me to Stay" by Sly and the Family Stone

care to comment?
3 people have so far.

previous entry - next entry - random entry

read my profile - leave me a note

recent entries:
RELOCATION - October 21, 2006
OVERHEARD IN MAYFAIR - October 19, 2006
DREAM OF A YOUNG BOY I MET BRIEFLY LAST NIGHT - September 23, 2006
OKAY, THEN... - August 21, 2006
MOTHERHOOD - March 26, 2006

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!