Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

July 27, 2004 - 10:25 am

KEY LARGO

It was a great trip. Here are some pictures - mostly of my urchins.

This one is of the kids' first plane ride. We made a short movie of it, and the boy had us rolling with laughter at his verbal interpretations of the pictures and diagrams on the laminated safety card. He's really not airsick. He's just funny.


The kids practiced snorkeling in their grandmother's pool. She lives in South Florida because she's old and that's the law.


Here are a couple of pictures of the place we stayed. It was a private resort on the Gulf side with just two small houses and a duplex, so we could be really silly without having to worry about attracting the local authorities too much. If you look closely you can see the swarms of mosquitos with sagging bellies full of my blood. Good times.


We took John's brother Dave's big-assed boat out around to the Atlantic and snorkeled Molasses Reef twice. The girl is fearless. She was trying to touch the fish and got so excited when she saw a pair of six-foot baracudas below us I thought she was going to dive down to the bottom to ride them. Both kids loved the jetski. The water bicycle was more my speed on this trip because you don't really have to get wet to ride it.


Here's the girl with her booty. She snorkeled in the shallows by our place from 8am to 8pm coming up reluctantly only for lunch and sunscreen.


The boy fished most of the time. He's exceptional at casting his own line and even reels in his own fish. He caught a few needlefish, which we used as bait, and an 18" baby baracuda. That's my boy!


John and I tried to go to Key West on our last night. It was a comedy of errors from the very beginning. We stopped at The Holiday Isle Tiki Bar for a rum runner because everyone knows if you don't you'll have bad luck. However, we were in a bit of a hurry for the sunset on Mallory Square, so we got ours to go. Huge mistake.

No sooner had we left the bar when we were stopped in traffic by an accident with a fatality. What should have taken two hours took four. We might have made the sunset, though, if it hadn't been for the torrential rains that came in on us as we entered Key West. The storm lasted just long enough for us to miss the sunset and get drenched as we got out for dinner. I looked like I was entering a wet t-shirt contest against my will. We ended up at a great sushi place and actually had a really nice dinner.

The waiter recommended the perfect little bed and breakfast right on Duval Street, but since we didn't get there until 10:30, the desk clerk was gone daddy gone. As it turned out, every hotel int the entire city was completely booked because we came in the middle of Hemingway Days and lobster mini season was beginning the following Wednesday. See what happens when I try to be spontaneous? I'm Type A, and it works for me.

We drove back to Key Largo tired and ill. And remembered on the way back that we had given up our king sized bed to some folks who had dropped in unexpectedly that day.

It wasn't really as bad as it sounds, though. I mean, who could be unhappy for long coming home to a place like this?

~Samantha

recommended:
reading -Life of Pi by Yann Martel
viewing - Key Largo
listening -"Let It Be" by the Beatles

care to comment?
0 people have so far.

previous entry - next entry - random entry

read my profile - leave me a note

recent entries:
RELOCATION - October 21, 2006
OVERHEARD IN MAYFAIR - October 19, 2006
DREAM OF A YOUNG BOY I MET BRIEFLY LAST NIGHT - September 23, 2006
OKAY, THEN... - August 21, 2006
MOTHERHOOD - March 26, 2006

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!