Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 10, 2004 - 9:01 am

OH, THE CARNAGE!

Early Sunday morning John and I woke to the boy screaming, �Mommy! I need you! Mommy!�

Let me just tell you � you have never seen such superhero/panther reflexes in a human being until you see a woman jump out of bed from a deep sleep to the sound of her child�s blood-curdling screams in the middle of the night.

When we got to the kids� room, we turned on the light and saw him sitting up on the top bunk, his face and hands covered in blood, crying that �I�m petrified� cry. There was blood bubbling out of his nose and dripping from his mouth and chin; it was all over the front of his pajamas and his sheets, and was beginning to drip down the ladder onto the rug. I swear it was like a Stephen King novel.

Now, before anyone calls DFCS, let me explain. The boy is prone to nose bleeds. He�s gotten them since he was about two, and his doctor has assured us it�s not a tumor. Some guys just have all the luck, I guess.

This nosebleed was extremely bad, and the trail of blood from the bedroom to the bathroom told a story of the tragic and gruesome end to a young boy�s life, cut down by a machete before it even began. It was my job to play it calm and reassure the boy this wasn�t his script.

He was fine a few minutes and a roll of toilet paper later.

Yesterday was his first day of kindergarten. He did great � no tears, no blood. I cried just a little bit, but I made sure he didn�t see it.

And since we�re on the subject of the boy, here are some of his most recent amusing quotes:

Me: We�re going to the office supply store for school supplies.
The Boy: Could I get a toy there?
Me: No, but maybe you could get something special for the first day of kindergarten.
The Boy: Like maybe some of those chatter teeth?

Me: See? This plant has a disease. It�s got a bug that�s eating its leaves and killing the plant.
The Boy: Oh, yeah. Just like war. Only no one eats anything�.except maybe people at home watching the war on television.

~Samantha

recommended:
reading -
viewing -
listening -

care to comment?
0 people have so far.

previous entry - next entry - random entry

read my profile - leave me a note

recent entries:
RELOCATION - October 21, 2006
OVERHEARD IN MAYFAIR - October 19, 2006
DREAM OF A YOUNG BOY I MET BRIEFLY LAST NIGHT - September 23, 2006
OKAY, THEN... - August 21, 2006
MOTHERHOOD - March 26, 2006

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!